Water fights and picnics

Published August 1, 2014 by thatstrangegirls

Hey,

Firstly, this is my 100th post! Yay! Doesn’t feel like i’ve made that many.

So yesterday I went to the final NCS meet up before I go away next week to Liddlington PGL camp in Swindon. It was a really fun day that started out with a meet up at an ASDA in Crawley with the other people in my group. We were also given free NCS shirts by one of our leaders, Tracey.

We then headed to the local park and had a picnic – or rather the girls did. We tucked in to the spread of rolls, fruit, biscuits, various meats, crisps, sausage rolls and so on while the majority of the boys in our group threw an american football around and chased each other with the water pistols.

Once everyone was done eating, we played some dorky party games like Wink Murder, Splat and Zip Zap Bounce that ended with us all in laughing fits. We also squirted each other with the water pistols to the point that they had to be refilled! (They were massive)

We also were given some extra information about NCS and stuff we might need to pack – for example, towels.

As we bought far too much food with our 150 pounds, there was lots of leftovers for people to help themselves to. I managed to take two six-packs of rolls which I figured would be handy for a barbecue at home. Free food is always good!

As I live a fair distance away from the meet up point, one of the leaders gave me a lift to the train station. The journey there was fairly uneventful – even pleasant. We discussed books, other members of my group and what i want to do for college. When she pulled outside of Brighton station, she even told me where the ticket office was and said she’d see me next week.

I successfully managed to navigate Brighton train station by myself. This is a real achievement considering a few months ago I didn’t even know what slot the train ticket goes into. Due to somebody apparently jumping off of a platform in front of train, all of the trains were delayed and also meant lots of people were just milling around aimlessly around the station. RIP whoever jumped off, I hope you’re in a better place.

Once the trains started getting ready to go, the previously empty train was suddenly chuck full of people to the point of people literally falling over each other. It was bizarre.

All in all, the day was really fun. We had a water fight, I got free food, I met some potential new friends and I managed to navigate the train station all by myself. I’m definitely excited for next week!

I’ve got a doctors appointment today.. I hate visiting the doctors! I always get the sense that i’m going to be i’m dieing or something equally dramatic and (hopefully) untrue.

Until next time!

-Megan

Leave a comment